The division was established in1996 by joining two departments, the Department of Biology established in 1942 and the Department of Molecular Biology established in1961 as the Institute of Molecular Biology. The division consists of seven major laboratories, each of which includes several research groups. Activities of the division centers on the molecular and cellular bases of various biological events. All the faculty members are also responsible for teaching undergraduate students in the Department of Biological Science. This division was selected as one of the Centers of Excellence by the Ministry of Education(Monbusyo).

✽Please replace (at) by @ in the case of e-mail transmission.

Laboratory of Biomolecular Architecture
Group of Molecular Neurobiology
Professor m46920a(at) Mori
Associate Professor
Young-Jai You
Designated Lecturer Tsunehiko Kohashi
Assistant Professor Yuki Tsukada
Assistant Professor Shunji Nakano
Assistant Professor
Kentaro Noma
Group of Neural Circuit
Professor kamikouchi(at) Kamikouchi
Lecturer Yuki Ishikawa
Designated Lecturer Hiroshi Ishimoto
Laboratory of Molecular Genetics
Group of Developmental Cell Biology
Professor kohsumi(at) Ohsumi
Lecturer Mari Iwabuchi
Laboratory of Molecular Information and Cellular Regulation
Group of Plant Reproductive Systems
Professor higashi(at) Higashiyama
Associate Professor Narie Sasaki
Lecturer Masahiro Kanaoka
Designated Lecturer Minako Ueda
Designated Lecturer Daisuke Kurihara
Group of Intracellular Dynamics
Professor goshima(at) Goshima
Assistant Professor Tomomi Kiyomitsu
Laboratory of Developmental Biology
Group of Intercellular Signaling Biology
Professor matsu(at) Matsubayashi
Assistant Professor Hidefumi Shinohara
Group of Reproductive Biology
Professor mtanaka(at) Tanaka
Assistant Professor Toshiya Nishimura
Group of Development and Growth Regulation
Associate Professor yoshioka(at) Yoshioka
Associate Professor Shin Takagi
Lecturer Shin Sugiyama
Lecturer Akira Kanamori
Assistant Professor Yoshimasa Yagi
Laboratory of Genetic Mechanisms
Group of Cell Regulation
Professor kinoshita.makoto(at) Kinoshita
Lecturer Natsumi Ageta-Ishihara
Assistant Professor Asako Shindo
Group of Molecular and Cell Biology
Professor z47617a(at) Kamura
Lecturer Fumihiko Okumura
Assistant Professor Keisuke Obara
Group of Chromosome Biology
Associate Professor nishiyama(at) Nishiyama
Laboratory of Supramolecular Biology
Group of Supra-molecular Structure
Associate Professor matsuura.yoshiyuki(at) Matsuura
Associate Professor Akihiro Narita
Lecturer Kingo Takiguchi
Group of Biomembrane Functions
Professor g44416a(at) Homma
Associate Professor Seiji Kojima
Assistant Professor Hiroyuki Terashima
Laboratory of Cell Regulation
Group of Developmental Morphogenesis
Assistant Professor shiraishi.yo-ichi(at) Shiraishi
Group of Signaling Mechanisms
Professor i45556a(at) Hisamoto
Associate Professor Hiroshi Hanafusa
Assistant Professor Strahil Ivanov Pastuhov
Senior Research Fellow Kunihiro Matsumoto
Laboratory of Biological Systems
Group of Plant Physiology
Professor kinoshita(at) Kinoshita
Associate Professor
Norihito Nakamichi
Lecturer Shinichiro Inoue
Assistant Professor Koji Takahashi
Group of Cell Biology
Lecturer s47526a(at) Hirako
Sugashima Marine Biological Laboratory
Group of Marine Developmental Biochemistry
Professor and Director hsawada(at) Sawada
Lecturer Satohiko Araki
Assistant Professor Yoshito Harada
Assistant Professor
Yukinobu Isowa
The Center for Gene Research
Laboratory of Gene Analysis
Professor sugita(at) Sugita
Lecturer Takuya Matsuo
Assistant Professor
Mizuho Ichinose
Group of Plant Molecular Signaling
Professor ytada(at) Tada
Associate Professor Kunio Ihara
Assistant Professor Mika Nomoto
Bioscience and Biotechnology Center
Group of Animal Organ Functions
Professor hibi(at) Hibi
Associate Professor Takashi Shimizu
Assistant Professor Hisashi Hashimoto
G30 International Programs
Group of Plant Size Regulation
Designated Professor ymizukami(at) Mizukami
Associate Professor
mnvassileva(at) Maria Nikolaeva
Emeritus Professor
Group of Biochronometry
Emeritus Professor kondo(at) Kondo
Group of Developmental Mechano Cell Biology
Senior Research Fellow yas(at) Machida
Senior Fellow
Group of Actin Filament Study(Structural Biology Research Center)
Senior Research Fellow ymaeda(at) Maéda
Structural Biology Research Center
Group of Protein Crystallography
(Please refer to Laboratory of Supramolecular Biology)
Leader, Associate Prof Yoshiyuki Matsuura (Lab for Supra-molecular structures)
Group of Electron Cryo-microscopy
(Please refer to Laboratory of Supramolecular Biology)
Leader, Associate Prof Akihiro Narita (Lab for Supra-molecular structures)
Group of Protein NMR Research
Leader, Visiting Prof kainosho(at) Kainosho
Visiting Associate Prof Yohei Miyanoiri
Group of Structural and Molecular Pharmacology
Professor hiroaki.hidekazu(at) Hiroaki
Associate Professor Tetsuya Kodama
Neuroscience Institute
Group of Nutritional Neuroscience
Designated Lecturer ishimoto.hiroshi(at) Ishimoto
Assistant Professor
noma.kentaro(at) Noma
Institute of Transformative Bio-Molecules(ITbM)
Group of Plant Pattern Formation
Visiting Professor Keiko Torii
Associate Professor
uchinao(at) Uchida